Malice in Wonderland By Hugo Vickers

  • Narrated by: Hugo Vickers
  • Length: 11 hrs and 18 mins
  • Release date: 05-31-22

Malice in Wonderland By Hugo Vickers AudioBook Summary

Hugo Vickers’s life took a dramatic turn in 1979 when the legendary Sir Cecil Beaton invited him to be his authorized biographer. The excitement of working with the famous photographer was dashed only days later when Cecil Beaton died. But the journey had only begun—Vickers was entrusted with Beaton’s papers, diaries and, most importantly, access to his friends and contemporaries.

In Malice in Wonderland, Vickers shares excerpts from his personal diaries kept during this period. For five years, Vickers traveled the world and talked to some of the most fascinating and important social and cultural figures of the time, including royalty such as the Queen Mother, film stars such as Grace Kelly and Julie Andrews, writers such as Truman Capote, and photographers such as Irving Penn. And not only Beaton’s friends—Vickers sought out the enemies too, notably Irene Selznick. He was taken under the wings of Lady Diana Cooper, Clarissa Avon and Diana Vreeland.


xAudioBooks.Com™ | Best Site To Download AudioBooks